Looking east at Lower Washington St. from Boylston St. From right to left:
- 160 Washington St.: Guild Building. at the corner. This side of the building would soon be removed for the widening of Boylston Street.
- 7 – 11 Boylston St., under construction. The demolition permit for the existing building (9-11 Boylston St.), affected by the incipient widening of Boylston Street, was granted in July, 1912; construction was completed by the end of the year; and an additional address, #7, was added.
- 7 Boylston St. After many years at 157 Washington St., hairdresser Martin Geier is about to move his business here. On January 1, 1913 the Brookline Equal Suffrage Association opened their offices upstairs.
- 5 Boylston St., the fading sign for the grocery store of Francis H. Bacon remains but the business was taken over by Thomas McMahon a number of years ago.
- 166 Washington St., upstairs in the Guild Building. Signs for Forster Bros., Upholsterers and
The Brookline Print (Wallace B. Conant and Carl A. Smith), job printers, are visible.
- 157 Washington St., in the distance, the sign for Brookline Provisions is visible.
incl. Streets
Image Courtesy the Brookline Preservation Department
|