Photo Collection


Prev - Zoom - Next
Brookline Village, circa 1909
The new fire station, just completed in late August 1908, is partially visible on the left. It is still in active use today as Station One. It is followed on the right by M. W. Quinlan’s carriage shop. New paving bricks are being installed in the Village Square. Visible on the right side of Boylston St. are John H. Shea, Horse Shoer at 21 Boylston St.; J. O'Day, Stables at 19 Boylston St.; Crawford O' Hart, Tinsmith and Coleman and Horton, Cigars at 11 Boylston St.

The trolley car is from the Boston and Worcester Street Railway Co. The route started at Park Sq. sharing standard trolley tracks then switched to its own B & W tracks at an interchange just west of Chestnut Hill. The route continued to Worcester and the cars could travel at 60 mph once outside the local Boston environs. The telescoped photo obscures the fact that these cars were longer than the local trolley cars running in Brookline.
incl. Streets

From the collection of Leo Sullivan